83-year-old actor Anthony Hopkins makes BAFTA history. See full list of other winners


83-year-old actor Sir Anthony Hopkins made history at the just concluded 2021 British Academy Film Awards on Sunday as he became the oldest man in history to be awarded Best Leading Actor.

The veteran British thespian who edged out out favourite Chadwick Boseman as he was awarded for his acclaimed performance in The Father, however failed to appear at the virtual ceremony and later revealed he had been working on a painting in his hotel room in Wales.

The actor, who currently lives in Wales, admitted he wasn’t even aware he’d won the prize for Leading Actor and was informed by his family members who were watching the ceremony.

He said: ‘This is wonderful; never in my life did I expect I’d get this. I got to a point in my life, this particular film which is a powerful film I know.

“So for me, this is a bonus, it’s a fun bonus, and I wish all the other nominees and winners congratulations I’m just so astounded I was sitting here painting in fact in my hotel, and I heard this cheer go off next door, I thought they were watching a football match next door,” he added.

The victory made him the oldest in history to win Leading Actor, but the title of the oldest ever BAFTA winner still belongs to Emmanuelle Riva, who at aged 84 was awarded Leading Actress for Amour in 2012.

However, Chloe Zhao’s “Nomadland” dominated at the BAFTA Film Awards, after winning four prizes, including best film. The Searchlight-produced movie also won for lead actress, cinematography, and director, putting it well ahead of all other films.

See below for a full list of nominees and winners below;

Best Film

“The Father”

“The Mauritanian”

“Nomadland” *WINNER

“Promising Young Woman”

“The Trial of the Chicago 7”

Outstanding British Film

“Calm With Horses”

“The Dig”

“The Father”

“His House”


“The Mauritanian”

“Mogul Mowgli”

“Promising Young Woman” *WINNER


“Saint Maud”


Thomas Vinterberg (“Another Round”)

Shannon Murphy (“Babyteeth”)

Lee Isaac Chung (“Minari”)

Chloé Zhao (“Nomadland”) *WINNER

Jasmila ?bani? (“Quo Vadis, Aida?”)

Sarah Gavron (“Rocks”)

Original Screenplay

“Another Round”


“Promising Young Woman” *WINNER


“The Trial of the Chicago 7”

Adapted Screenplay

Moira Buffini (“The Dig”)

Christopher Hampton, Florian Zeller (“The Father”) *WINNER

Rory Haines, Sohrab Noshirvani, M.B. Traven (“The Mauritanian”)

Chloé Zhao (“Nomadland”)

Ramin Bahrani (“The White Tiger”)

Leading Actress

Bukky Bakray (“Rocks”)

Radha Blank (“The Forty-Year-Old Version”)

Frances McDormand (“Nomadland”) *WINNER

Vanessa Kirby (“Pieces of a Woman”)

Wunmi Mosaku (“His House”)

Alfre Woodard (“Clemency”)

Leading Actor

Riz Ahmed (“Sound of Metal”)

Chadwick Boseman (“Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom”)

Adarsh Gourav (“The White Tiger”)

Anthony Hopkins (“The Father”) *WINNER

Mads Mikkelsen (“Another Round”)

Tahar Rahim (“The Mauritanian”)

Supporting Actress

Niamh Algar (“Calm With Horses”)

Kosar Ali (“Rocks”)

Maria Bakalova (“Borat Subsequent Moviefilm”)

Dominique Fishback (“Judas and the Black Messiah”)

Ashley Madekwe (“County Lines”)

Yuh-Jung Youn (“Minari”)*WINNER

Supporting Actor

Daniel Kaluuya (“Judas and the Black Messiah”) *WINNER

Barry Keoghan (“Calm With Horses”)

Alan Kim (“Minari”)

Leslie Odom Jr. (“One Night In Miami…”)

Clarke Peters (“Da 5 Bloods”)

Paul Raci (“Sound of Metal”)

Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director or Producer

Remi Weekes (“His House”) *WINNER

Ben Sharrock, Irune Gurtubai (“Limbo”)

Jack Sidey (“Moffie”)

Theresa Ikoko, Claire Wilson (“Rocks”)

Rose Glass, Oliver Kassman (“Saint Maud”)

Film not in English Language

Thomas Vinterberg, Sisse Graum Jørgensen (“Another Round”) *WINNER

Andrei Konchalovsky, Alisher Usmanov (“Dear Comrades!”)

Ladj Ly (“Les Misérables”)

Lee Isaac Chung, Christina Oh (“Minari”)

Jasmila ?bani?, Damir Ibrahimovich (“Quo Vadis, Aida?”)


Alexander Nanau (“Collective”)

Alastair Fothergill, Jonnie Hughes, Keith Scholey (“David Attenborough: A Life on Our Planet”)

Bryan Fogel, Thor Halvorssen (“The Dissident”)

Pippa Ehrlich, James Reed, Craig Foster (“My Octopus Teacher”) *WINNER

Jeff Orlowski, Larissa Rhodes (“The Social Dilemma”)

Animated Film

Dan Scanlon, Kori Rae (“Onward”)

Pete Docter, Dana Murray (“Soul”) *WINNER

Tomm Moore, Ross Stewart, Paul Young (“Wolfwalkers”)

Original Score

Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross (“Mank”)

Emile Mosseri (“Minari”)

James Newton Howard (“News of the World”)

Anthony Willis (“Promising Young Woman”)

Jon Batiste, Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross (“Soul”) *WINNER


Shaheen Baig (“Calm with Horses”)

Alexa L. Fogel (“Judas and the Black Messiah”)

Julia Kim (“Minari”)

Lindsay Graham Ahanonu, Mary Vernieu (“Promising Young Woman”)

Lucy Pardee (“Rocks”) *WINNER


Sean Bobbitt (“Judas and the Black Messiah”)

Erik Messerschmidt (“Mank”)

Alwin H. Küchler (“The Mauritanian”)

Dariusz Wolski (“News of the World”)

Joshua James Richards (“Nomadland”) *WINNER


Yorgos Lamprinos (“The Father”)

Chloé Zhao (“Nomadland”)

Frédéric Thoraval (“Prominsg Young Woman”)

Mikkel E.G. Nielsen (“Sound of Metal”) *WINNER

Alan Baumgarten (“The Trial of the Chicago 7”)

Production Design

Maria Djurkovic, Tatiana Macdonald (“The Dig”)

Peter Francis, Cathy Featherstone (“The Father”)

Donald Graham Burt, Jan Pascale (“Mank”) *WINNER

David Crank, Elizabeth Keenan (“News of the World”)

Sarah Greenwood, Katie Spencer (“Rebecca”)

Costume Design

Michael O’Connor (“Ammonite”)

Alice Babidge (“The Dig”)

Alexandra Byrne (“Emma”)

Ann Roth (“Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom”) *WINNER

Trish Summerville (“Mank”)

Make up and Hair

Jenny Shircore (“The Dig”)

Patricia Dehaney, Eryn Krueger Mekash, Matthew Mungle (“Hillbilly Elegy”)

Matiki Anoff, Larry M. Cherry, Sergio Lopez-Rivera, Mia Neal (“Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom”) *WINNER

Kimberley Spiteri, Gigi Williams (“Mank”)

Mark Coulier (“Pinocchio”)


Nominees TBC (“Greyhound”)

Michael Fentum, William Miller, Mike Prestwood Smith, John Pritchett, Oliver Tarney (“News of the World”)

Sergio Diaz, Zach Seivers, M. Wolf Snyder (“Nomadland”)

Coya Elliott, Ren Klyce, David Parker(“Soul”)

Jaime Baksht, Nicolas Becker, Phillip Bladh, Carlos Cortés, Michelle Couttolenc (“Sound of Metal”) *WINNER

Special Visual Effects

Pete Bebb, Nathan McGuinness, Sebastian von Overheidt (“Greyhound”)

Matt Kasmir, Chris Lawrence, David Watkins (“The Midnight Sky”)

Sean Faden, Steve Ingram, Anders Langlands, Seth Maury (“Mulan”)

Santiago Colomo Martinez, Nick Davis, Greg Fisher (“The One and Only Ivan”)

Scott Fisher, Andrew Jackson, Andrew Lockley (“Tenet”) *WINNER

British Short Animation

Renaldho Pelle, Yanling Wang, Kerry Jade Kolbe (“The Fire Next Time”)

Mole Hill, Laura Duncalf (“The Owl and the Pussycat”) *WINNER

Daniel Quirke, Jamie MacDonald, Brid Arnstein (“The Song of a Lost Boy”)

British Short Film

Jesse Lewis Reece, Ike Newman (“Eyelash”)

Akinola Davies, Rachel Dargavel, Wale Davies (“Lizard”)

John Addis, Rami Sarras Pantoja (“Lucky Break”)

Ghada Eldemellawy (“Miss Curvy”)

Farah Nabulsi (“The Present”) *WINNER

EE Rising Star Award

Bukky Bakray *WINNER

Conrad Khan

Kingsley Ben-Adir

Morfydd Clark

Sope Dìrísù


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here